30 Days of Thankfulness – November 1st

I have been going back and forth for awhile trying to decide if I would like to attempt to do a “30 Days of Thankfulness” series this year. I started it last year but got busy (and apparently “un-thankful!”) and never finished it. However, when I was laying in bed from about 2:00 am to 5:30 am wide awake, alone with my thoughts, I decided to go for it…which leads me to my first post.

I’m thankful for sleep. Sometimes it takes a lack of sleep to really be thankful for it! I love sleep. I love snuggling up in a warm comfy bed for a good night of rest. I love getting cozy on the couch with a blanket for a peaceful Sunday afternoon nap. Unfortunately, my sleeping rarely happens past 7:00 in the morning because I have a 2-year-old who enjoys waking up around that time. But, that’s ok! I’ve never been a really late sleeper…maybe 9:00 or 10:00 at the very latest. I’m the kind of person who would rather go to bed early and be up early to get my day started.

As my sweet boy naps, I’m also thankful for his sleep. I once had a friend with two sons tell me that when boys are grouchy, it’s almost always one of two things – they are hungry or they are sleepy. I haven’t had a little boy for very long, but I’m starting to believe that’s the truth! When Noah doesn’t get the sleep he needs, he is “crabby, crabby, crabby,” as Phil would say. Before becoming a parent, I didn’t realize how important sleep actually is. Sleep kind of becomes an obsession ..I read books, blogs, magazines, online articles, and more about how to get my child to sleep better at night. Then, once we finally felt settled and like we figured it all out, something would happen…sickness, teething, growth spurt…and we’d be back to the beginning again! Fortunately now, we have an excellent sleeper who typically takes a 2 hour nap every day and sleeps 11 – 12 hours each night.

So, as I sit here tired and wondering if I should be taking a nap instead of writing a blog post, I just think about how much I appreciate sleep and being well-rested! Here’s to hoping tonight is a little better night for sleeping! Happy sleeping everyone!

(For my few subscribers, this is my new blog address: https://baileydailyblog.wordpress.com. Please click on the “Follow” button on the side of the page to receive posts by email.)

Leave a Reply

