30 Days of Thankfulness – November 2nd

Today I’m thankful to be alone. My boys are gone. I miss them terribly. Brian is at a conference until tomorrow evening. Noah went to stay with grandparents for the weekend because I have a music teachers event to be at all morning tomorrow and I needed a babysitter. Usually at this time of night, I hear Noah’s deep breathing over the monitor; Brian and I are working on picking up the house before bed; and the cats can’t decide if they want to be in or out. It’s not usually a noisy time of day, but there is typically a little more activity. It’s nice to have such a quiet, still night.

I don’t feel like I’m a “loner.” I love people. I absolutely love being around family and friends. I wouldn’t know what to do with myself if I was completely alone all the time. (Plus I’d have to be the one who got up to let the cats out in the middle of the night every night…love you, honey!!) But, I do value time to myself. Tonight after a day of running errands, I had dinner on the couch while watching a rented movie. Something we rarely do just because of time (and because we like to sleep!) and something not very exciting, but it was just lovely. Sometimes you just need time alone.

However, I absolutely don’t want to be alone for long! I’m getting a bit tear-y thinking about how much I miss my boys. I’m so grateful that Brian will be home tomorrow, and that Noah will be back on Sunday. I think that’s another reason why I appreciate “alone time”….I think it makes me even more thankful for the wonderful people I have in my life!

Leave a Reply

