Thankful for the Gift of New Life

Well…I didn’t do too spectacular with my 30 Days of Thankfulness. I didn’t last year either. I am thinking that it would be a good idea to try that in a different month! November seems to be the beginning of our “busy season!”

Today is one of those days that I might use the cliche “when it rains, it pours.” Our garage door isn’t working properly. My washing machine stopped working this morning, and my shower isn’t draining very well. And I don’t really have time or knowledge to mess with any of those things right now. I know it could be way worse, so I’m not complaining too much.

I had my first OB appointment today. (Well…my first appointment with the doctor. I have been once to see the nurse and have a sonogram and blood work done.) I mentioned the above things because as each thing broke this morning, I kept thinking…I get to hear my baby’s heart beat today and that will make it all better!

As I listened to that tiny, super fast heartbeat inside of me, I couldn’t help but to be thankful for the gift of new life. What an awesome thing. As I read about a baby’s week-to-week development, I am just in awe of our creator and how he truly does “knit” us together. It just amazes me every time I think about it.

By now, if you didn’t already know (or realize it from the rest of the post!), the Bailey family is growing this year. I had a positive pregnancy test on October 4th, but I knew at least a week before that we were going to have another baby. A big sign was the odd waves of nausea and heartburn…neither of which are typical in my daily life. But, I knew before that because God revealed it to me so clearly. I was doing my Bible study one day and read Psalm 139:13 “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.” As soon as I read that verse, I got chills all over my body. Later that day, I told Brian that even though I didn’t have a test to prove it, we were going to have a baby. Oddly enough, I heard the same verse read a couple of days later, and the exact same thing happened. After that, I knew for sure. The positive test a week later was just a welcome reassurance!

We are so excited to have a new baby in the house. I have a new OB this time around, and her name is Dr. Appel. Apple is one of Noah’s favorite words and foods, so he frequently talks about “mommy, baby, Dr. Appel.” A couple of nights ago before bed, he mentioned “HIS” new baby, and he loves to be reminded that he will be a big brother. We are all anxious to see the new life that God has knit together for our family!

One thought on “Thankful for the Gift of New Life

Leave a Reply

